N.Y. Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books 2010

Bookmark and Share

Each year I eagerly await the announcement of the New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books, and this year’s list does not disappoint!  Now, we all know the Caldecott award is the gold standard for picture book illustration, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t room in the kid lit world for other opinions.  (Although some of the Caldecott winners and honor books have appeared on the NYT list as well.)

One of the things that especially delighted me this year is that I know two of the three judges on the NYT panel.  Well, I don’t know them personally, but I know who they are, which is not always the case.

  1.  The king of pop-up books, Robert Sabuda.  I have a collection of his books that I use during library storytime, and I am always just as fascinated as the children are by the clever engineering of each intricate page.  Let him show you how to make your own simple pop-ups with step-by-step instructions and printouts.
  2. Children’s librarian, book reviewer, blogger, and author Betsy Bird.  If you aren’t reading Betsy’s blog, A Fuse #8 Production, then you are missing out on all the best scoop in the world of children’s literature! 
  3. Novelist David Barringer.  I’ve never heard of him until now, but here’s a link to his website.

Now that you’ve met the judges, go take a look at the books

And if you’re curious, here’s the link to the 2009 List, the 2008 List, and the 2007 List.  (If you’re listening NYT, I like the format of the 2007 and 2008 slide show best!)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *